The Estrie region combines high-technology assets with a wonderful sociocultural framework, an exciting environment and a range of bridging mechanisms for business and personal integration. Everything about this region instils a swift feeling that it’s where you belong.
Quality of Life
The choice of the Estrie region is strategically easy to justify, but quality of life is often the motivating factor in a final decision. Fortunately, the Estrie region is more often than not the perfect compromise: proximity to major centres with none of their inconveniences, and a complete range of services in a healthy natural environment.
Topics:
Reference Web sites:
Climate

The Estrie region has a damp continental climate with four distinct, contrasting seasons. Its southerly location makes for a climate that is less harsh than in most of the other regions of Québec; its topography and altitude are the main causes of variations in climate. One-third of its annual precipitation falls in the form of snow.

  • Sunny days
    296
Family

Family is unquestionably one of the key values in Québec society. Managing a good balance between professional life and personal life is eased by an increasing number of programs. The Estrie region relies on these programs and, especially, on a safe and pleasant environment for the whole family.

The Estrie region offers all the amenities, a modern infrastructure, a complete education system, quality health care, proximity to large urban centres and support for sports activities of all kinds. All the features of the Estrie region make it a perfect setting for family life. It is also worth noting that the region has one of the lowest crime rates of any Canadian region with at least 100 000 inhabitants.

Accomodation

The cost of living in the Estrie region is very reasonable, and lower than that of most Canadian cities. It is therefore relatively easy to find accommodation in the Estrie region, whether purchasing a property or renting an apartment. A variety of agencies are available in the region to help people find housing or a home.

Education

In the Estrie region, education is supported by a stable network of institutions. The region has several school boards that include institutions for all levels and provide services in both French and English. Schools and private colleges round out the services available.

The Regional Branch of the Ministère de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport acts as liaison between the Ministère and regional stakeholders in the education system. It provides organizations with support and responds to requests for information and documentation from clients of the system and from citizens in general.

Distribution of Educational Institutions:

French-Language Institutions English-Language Institutions Bilingual Institutions
School boards 3 1 -
Elementary schools 88 13 -
Secondary schools 15 4 -
Elementary and secondary schools 6 8 -
Vocational training centres 8 - 2
Adult Education Centres 4 1 1
Private schools 14 2 1
Private colleges 2 - -
Cégeps (Provincial colleges) 1 1 -
Universities 1 1 -
Health Care

In keeping with the principle of universality, the people of the Estrie region, like all Québecers, have free access to medical care. In fact, the region has excellent health care services.

In addition to the ultramodern facilities of the Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke (CHUS), there are regional hospitals, Centres locaux de services communautaires (local community service centres) (CLSCs) and private clinics.

The population of the Estrie region has a full range of quality health care services that are available to all.

  • Number of Hospitals
    7
  • Number of Service Points
    18
Sports

With its many mountains, lakes, rivers, parks and wooded areas, the Estrie region is filled with possibilities for anyone who wants to get outdoors, keep active and engage in sports.

Enthusiasts of sailing, canoeing, kayaking, swimming, water skiing, golf, tennis, soccer, baseball, horseback riding, hiking, cycling, downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, skating, snowmobiling, fishing and hunting will have no trouble engaging in their favourite activity at their doorstep. There are also numerous facilities available year-round for working out indoors, snowshoeing, playing team sports and engaging in climbing, gymnastics, martial arts and swimming.

  • Ski Resorts
    in the Vicinity
    7
  • National and Regional Parks
    2
  • Lakes
    130
  • Golf Courses in the Vicinity
    39
Culture

The Estrie region has a great deal to offer socially and culturally, primarily because the region’s cultural life is based on its anglophone and francophone roots.

Year round, entertainment facilities, cinemas and art galleries offer a variety of programming, complemented by numerous activities, festivals and don’t-miss events, such as:

  • Le Festival des traditions du monde
  • Le Festival des harmonies
  • La Fête du lac des Nations et les Grands Feux Molson du Canada
  • La Traversée internationale du lac Memphrémagog
  • La Fête des vendanges
  • Le Grand Prix Ski-Doo de Valcourt
  • Le Symposium des arts de Danville
  • Le Festival western du Village des Dalton de Weedon

There is also the Sherbrooke Symphony Orchestra (SSO), under the direction of Stéphane Laforest, who is also assistant conductor of the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM).

Tourism

The Estrie region has long enjoyed a reputation for quality when it comes to top-of-the-line resorts. The attractions that make the Estrie region a popular tourist destination naturally make it an exceptional region to live in.

Scenery, lakes – including famous Lac Memphrémagog and its fabled monster – mountains, charming winding roads, round-trip excursions, gourmet restaurants, celebrated hotels and countryside B&Bs, golf courses, regional and national parks, lodges and activities to be found throughout the region are just some examples of the treasures it has to offer.

Because of its reputation as a resort region, the Estrie region has been able to build a complete tourism infrastructure. Everyone who visits will find an activity, accommodations or a restaurant that is just what they are looking for and makes their visit an unforgettable experience.

Partners

Government of Canada

Quebec Government

Conférence régionale des élus de l'Estrie

Desjardins - Business Centre - Estrie

Sherbrooke University

Aux atouts plus techniques de l’Estrie s’ajoutent un cadre socioculturel remarquable, un milieu stimulant et une panoplie de mécanismes favorisant l’intégration des entreprises et des personnes. Tout est mis en place pour qu’il soit très facile de développer rapidement un sentiment d’appartenance envers la région.
Qualité de vie
Sur le plan stratégique, le choix de l’Estrie se justifie très facilement. Toutefois, c’est souvent la qualité de vie qui motive la décision finale. Heureusement, il est couramment question de l’Estrie ou du parfait compromis : la proximité des grands centres, sans les désagréments, et une offre de services complète dans un cadre naturel sain.
Sujets :
Sources externes d'information :
Climat

L’Estrie bénéficie d’un climat continental humide donnant lieu à quatre saisons distinctes et très contrastées. En raison de sa situation méridionale, son climat est toutefois moins rude que celui de la plupart des autres régions du Québec; le relief et l’altitude sont les principales causes de variations climatiques. Annuellement, le tiers des précipitations tombe sous forme de neige.

  • Jours d’ensoleillement
    296
Famille

La famille est certainement l’une des valeurs les plus importantes de la société québécoise. La conciliation de la vie professionnelle et de la vie familiale est un objectif qu’un nombre de plus en plus important de programmes rendent possible. L’Estrie compte donc sur ces mécanismes et, surtout, sur un milieu sûr et agréable pour toute la famille.

L’Estrie offre toutes les commodités, des infrastructures modernes, un réseau scolaire complet, des soins de santé de qualité, la proximité des grands centres et un cadre propice aux activités sportives de tout acabit. Toutes les caractéristiques de l’Estrie en font un cadre parfait d’un point de vue familial. Il est aussi intéressant de noter que la région affiche l’un des plus bas taux de criminalité parmi les régions canadiennes comptant au moins 100 000 habitants.

Logement

Le coût de la vie en Estrie est très raisonnable. Il est d’ailleurs inférieur à celui de la plupart des villes canadiennes. Il est donc relativement facile de se loger en Estrie, qu’il soit question d’acheter une propriété ou de louer un appartement. Divers organismes en place ont pour objectif d’appuyer les gens dans leurs démarches en vue de trouver un logement ou une résidence.

Éducation

En Estrie, l’éducation repose sur un solide réseau d’établissements. La région compte en effet plusieurs commissions scolaires regroupant des établissements de tous les niveaux et offrant des services en français et en anglais. Écoles et collèges privés viennent compléter l’offre de services.

La Direction régionale du ministère de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport assure le lien entre le Ministère et les acteurs régionaux du réseau de l’éducation. Elle soutient les organismes concernés et répond aux demandes de renseignements et de documents de la clientèle du réseau et des citoyens en général.

Répartition des établissements d’enseignement :

Établissements francophones Établissements anglophones Établissements bilingues
Commissions scolaires 3 1 -
Écoles primaires 88 13 -
Écoles secondaires 15 4 -
Écoles primaires et secondaires 6 8 -
Centres de formation professionnelle 8 - 2
Centres de formation aux adultes 4 1 1
Écoles privées 14 2 1
Collèges privés 2 - -
Cégeps 1 1 -
Universités 1 1 -
Santé

Au nom du principe de l’universalité, la population de l’Estrie, comme l’ensemble des Québécois et des Québécoises, a gratuitement accès à des soins médicaux. La région est d’ailleurs très bien desservie à ce chapitre.

Aux installations ultramodernes du Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke (CHUS) s’ajoutent des hôpitaux régionaux, des Centres locaux de services communautaires (CLSC) et des cliniques privées.

La population de l’Estrie bénéficie d’une offre complète de services de santé de qualité et accessibles à tous.

  • Nombre d’hôpitaux
    7
  • Nombre de points de service
    18
Sports

Parsemée de montagnes, de lacs, de rivières, de parcs et de zones boisées, l’Estrie regorge de possibilités pour quiconque souhaite prendre l’air, bouger et faire du sport.

Les amateurs de voile, de canot, de kayak, de baignade, de ski nautique, de golf, de tennis, de soccer, de baseball, d’équitation, de randonnée, de vélo, de ski alpin, de ski de fond, de raquette, de patin, de motoneige, de pêche et de chasse pourront facilement pratiquer leur activité favorite sans devoir s’exiler. De plus, toute l’année durant, de nombreuses installations permettent de s’entraîner en salle, de pratiquer des sports de raquette et divers sports d’équipe et de faire de l’escalade, de la gymnastique, des arts martiaux et de la natation.

  • Stations de ski
    à proximité
    7
  • Parcs nationaux et régionaux
    2
  • Lacs
    130
  • Parcours de golf à proximité
    39
Culture

L’Estrie a beaucoup à offrir sur le plan socioculturel, notamment parce que la vie culturelle de la région s’inspire de ses racines anglophones et francophones.

Toute l’année, les salles de spectacle, les cinémas et les galeries d’art proposent une programmation diversifiée, à laquelle se greffent bon nombre d’activités, de festivals et d’évènements incontournables, notamment :

  • Le Festival des traditions du monde
  • Le Festival des harmonies et des orchestres symphoniques du Québec
  • La Fête du lac des Nations et les Grands Feux Molson du Canada
  • La Traversée internationale du lac Memphrémagog
  • La Fête des vendanges
  • Le Grand Prix Ski-Doo de Valcourt
  • Le Symposium des arts de Danville
  • Le Festival western du Village des Dalton de Weedon

Il est important de souligner l’existence de l’Orchestre symphonique de Sherbrooke (OSS), sous la direction de Stéphane Laforest, aussi chef assistant de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM).

Tourisme

L’Estrie jouit depuis très longtemps d’une solide notoriété en qualité de région de villégiature de choix. Les attraits qui font de l’Estrie une région touristique populaire en font inévitablement une région de résidence d’exception.

Les paysages, les lacs, y compris le célèbre Memphrémagog et son monstre légendaire, les montagnes, les routes sinueuses et pittoresques, les circuits touristiques, les tables gourmandes, les établissements hôteliers de renom ou les gîtes champêtres, les terrains de golf, les parcs régionaux et nationaux, les stations touristiques et les activités organisées un peu partout dans la région ne sont que des exemples des richesses de la région.

Sa renommée, comme région de villégiature, a permis à l’Estrie de se doter d’une infrastructure touristique complète. Toutes les personnes qui visitent la région trouveront l’activité, la chambre ou la table qui répondra à leurs attentes et qui rendra leur expérience inoubliable.

Partenaires

Gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Québec - Développement économique, Innovation et Exportation

CLD de l’Estrie - Centres locaux de développement

Conférence régionale des élus de l'Estrie

Desjardins - Centre financier aux entreprises - Estrie

Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton

Université de Sherbrooke